Case Study - Mapping smallholder irrigated agriculture in Mozambique with satellite images (remote sensing)

Example of furrow irrigation

Example of end result

What is the organization responsible for the ODK project? What sort of work do they do? What is your role?
This ODK project is part of a wider project, in which several research institutes in Mozambique work together (Wageningen University (WUR), Universidade Eduardo Mondlane (UEM), Universidade Eduardo Mondlane (UEM), Instituto Superior Politécnico de Manica/Gaza (ISPM/ISPG) and Resiliencia Mozambique )
All of the above institutions work together on FArm-led Smallholder Irrigation project in MOzambique (FASIMO), of which part of the outcomes is developing a methodology for mapping irrigated agriculture in Mozambique through remote sensing and machine learning (this ODK project). I am currently doing a PhD at Wageningen University about this topic, and the other collaborating institutions support me. UEM does agricultural research and INIR is a public institution attached to the Ministry of Agriculture that works on irrigation, and want to develop internal capacities to do field data collection for classification studies based on remote sensing. One of the outcomes of FASIMO is that INIR and UEM gain the capacities to map irrigation initiatives throughout Mozambique (currently outside of the scope of the project). Resiliencia Mozambique coordinates the gathering of field data for this project, as I am currently in the Netherlands. INIR and UEM have the capacity to grant approvals for data collection.

What is the goal of the project?
This ODK project has two goals: for this season (April-November 2020) to try out remotely managing field data collection, and for the next season (2021) scaling this process up. By the end of my PhD, the university and irrigation institute will have the knowledge and models to collect field data, analyse it and make thematic maps of each irrigation season.