Adding group features to aggregate - help

Hey,

Just trying to stir the pot and see if anyone has any thoughts on this.
Also, I was told I should try to get the attention of a person named Mitch
who has done this before. So, Mitch, if you're out there, I'd love to know
your thoughts.

Thanks,

John.

··· On Thursday, September 27, 2012 5:52:09 PM UTC-6, John Etherton wrote: > > Hello everyone, > > I'm working on a project to add groups to aggregate. This way both users > and forms would belong to one or more groups. Users from Group A could only > view/edit the forms that were also under Group A, and so forth. I think > this is pretty straight forward, just add a table in the DB for groups, and > then add one that maps users to groups and one that maps forms to groups. > But I'm new to Tomcat/beans and very new to things like Spring Security. > > So my question is, is it really as simple as I hope, or will rewrite some > stuff to get the various frameworks at play to work with this change? > Should I try to enforce separation of groups through Spring or should I do > that myself? Are there any other things I should be aware of when > implementing such a change? > > Thanks a lot, > >

Hi John -- thank you for the work you did with javarosa and cascading
selects!

The 'group' functionality is all already there, but not the
groups-have-access-to-forms functionality.

The current security model is governed by 2 tables:

_user_granted_authority -- maps users to the groups they belong to.
NOTE: super-user is also granted the ROLE_SITE_ACCESS_ADMIN privilege
in this table (so that if they ever are removed from all groups, they still
have site admin privileges).

granted_authority_hierarchy -- hierarchy of groups and, eventually, the
privileges (roles) assigned to those groups. Privileges are identified by
"ROLE
" prefix.

A very early alpha allowed for user-defined groups, but we stripped that
functionality out of the UI and restricted the user interface to just the 4