Auto-populating questions with ODK

Hey everyone,

I'm totally new to this, and I'm working to determine which data collection app is best for the purposes of my organzation. ODK meets most criteria (works offline, open source, works in Spanish), but I need to make sure the data collection process is as flexible as can be. For example, we want to do surveys with groups testing information retention according to the trainigns that each group has received. Ideally, we would be able to enter the name of the group and choose the sets of questions that correspond with that group's unique trajectory of trainings. Using Tangerine, we have to enter questions manually each time for each group, which is very cumbersome. Can someone tell me if ODK is capable of this?

Many thanks.

Hey Kristyn,

Could you provide further details on what you mean? Do you mean that if you enter a group name (or select a group name) the questions that follow would be specific to that group? So for example, do you want branching logic in the survey that is determined by the group that is selected?

Happy to offer more advice, just wanted to make sure I understand the problem you're having first.

[Full disclosure, I work for SurveyCTO, which is a a supported, hosted version of ODK with extra features.]

Hope I can help,
Ruthie

Hey Ruthie,

Thanks for your help. What you have described is exactly what we need.
Thanks for your patience and understanding. I'm just learning!

Kristyn

Ok, yes that is possibly in ODK and SurveyCTO. On the SurveyCTO side, we have sample forms, documentation, and guidance on how to set that up on our website. On the ODK side, there might be other users here who have some examples of how they set it up.

That's helpful. I've looked into Survey OTC and unfortunately, I am unable
to consider that an option because we are a low-budget organization and
need something that is open source. Thanks!

Hi Kristyn,