Can ODK help me survey users about randomly generated images?

Hello Everyone,

I'm a graduate student at the University of Texas studying Global Policy and Data Science. A data scientist from the R4DS community recommended that I get involved with ODK for my project, but I'm really new and don't know how to proceed with the resources you all offer. Here's a breakdown of what I'm trying to do:

This summer I'm working with a professor at Princeton that conducts a massive survey in the Middle East (25,000+ respondents) called the Arab Barometer. We're trying to determine how people evaluate what makes something fake news. The idea is to create an algorithm to randomly assign features of a Facebook page image, such as in the picture attached. Features like publication source, location, news story subjects, number of shares etc. would change randomly each time someone takes the survey. Also, it's important to note that the survey is going to be conducted on a tablet in areas that wont have internet access, so everything has to be stored on the device.

I know R, and I'm pretty good at Python as well, so I know that I can create the image processing algorithm, but I don't know how I would integrate that with survey software. Is this something I can do with ODK products?

Thank you. I really appreciate all help and advice.

Ethan Tenison

1 Like

Hi @ethantenison, and welcome to the ODK forum!

At some point after you collect the data, you'll get the data off the tablets. There are multiple ways to do so, but one common approach is to submit the data to a server (ODK Aggregate or ODK Central) once the device is back in an area with Internet access.

Once the data is on the server, you can download it as a CSV file, which you can load using R or Python. If you're using ODK Central as your server, you can also access your data using OData or using the REST API. If you're using R, you might also want to take a look at ruODK.

Hope that helps!

1 Like