Collect v1.4 Problem: now() not returning new date each instance

Hello,

I am attempting to capture a new timestamp for each question in my ODK
survey; I am doing this by having the program calculate "format-date-time(now(),
'%H:%M:%S')" before each question. Now, per rev 1033 for Collect (see https://code.google.com/p/opendatakit/wiki/CollectReleaseNotes
for release notes), I expected the operator 'now()' to compute a new value
every time it is used, yet, when I have multiple timestamp-capture
attempts, the calculations are all returning the same value as the
pre-loaded "start" function. Thus, I have concluded that 'now()' is not
returning a new value each time.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get a new timestamp each
time? I am fairly new to ODK, so I'd greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks!
Melanie

ODK Collect eagerly evaluates formulas. When the form is first opened, all
calculations which are determined to be relevant are executed and the
computed values are assigned -- hence why the now() all evaluates to the
same time.

After this, these values are only recomputed if a value that the formula is
dependent upon changes. If you are just using "now()" as the formula, they
will never be recomputed. When defining calculated expressions, it is
important to keep this in mind -- they are evaluated whenever something
they depend upon changes, not in the order in which they appear in your
form definition (e.g., XLS file).

You can still use them to record times at which answer values change.
However, they are not able to record the times at which a user transits
through a question without changing its value.

With that large caveat, to capture the time-of-change, you need a
calculation that depends upon the question. I.e., in XLSForm terms, this
works:

if( boolean-from-string(${question}), now(), now() )

This formula depends upon the preceding question (${question}) so it will
be evaluated whenever the answer to that question changes. The formula