Form design: grid of text or numeric input

As a form designer, I want to be able to group several related text or numeric inputs into a grid so that they can be input quickly by enumerators.

There are many kinds of forms that involve collecting several values of the same kind. A simple example:

This would currently need to be represented as 9 different text fields in vertical sequence (e.g. "How many grams of vegetables did you eat for breakfast?").

Several users have asked for grid or table input and included concrete use cases:

I propose we start by supporting just text or numeric input. @Grzesiek2010 had pointed to here, he had previously worked on a grid view for repeats in a Collect fork. Any type is allowed but the input is done in a modal rather than directly in the grid. A similar idea could be used to support all question types in a grid without repeats but I'm not sure the complexity is worth it. My sense is that supporting text and numeric input initially will provide a lot of value and address most cases.

Once there is agreement on the feature's behavior, I will provide proposals for ODK XForms and XLSForm.

Dear Helene,

An ODK XLSForm grid of text or numeric input would help a lot in speeding up the data collection and provide a lot of value. Not just sure on the complexity of how to create such a code. Otherwise its worthy the effort

3 Likes

Dear Hélène

Are you using ODK Build or are you using excel?
If you are using excel place the questions you want in a group (i.e. use the begin group function); then set the appearance of that group to 'table'. You do this by just putting the word table in the appearance column. You will have to do this to all groups of questions you want to have displayed in table form.

Please note that the size of the device screen will determine how easy the form is to use and the amount of scrolling from side to side will increase proportional to the size of the matrix.
So this is really not good for large tables.