Remove previously taken images from gallery (via setting)

1. What is the general goal of the feature?

Remove photos taken for image questions from the device's image browser. At the moment, this can be done only upon submission. This means that if a user creates several draft survey instances, each with a photo, all previously taken photos are visible in the image browser.

This is a problem because 1) data privacy (photos are visible in various apps) and 2) users may accidentally link a previously taken photo to the wrong survey instance.

2. What are some example use cases for this feature?

  • As a coordinator for a large humanitarian NGO conducting beneficiary registration, I want to make sure my team members never accidentally use a photo in two different submissions while working on several drafts in order for us to avoid false records.

  • As the data privacy officer at my organization I want to make sure beneficiary ID photos are never visible in the camera roll / gallery of our local team's devices to avoid putting them and affected people at risk.

3. What can you contribute to making this feature a reality?

  • Funding :slight_smile:
  • UX flow, UI designs
  • User testing