Why are repeats exported as separate CSVs/sheets?

Hello Everyone!

I am new to KoboToolbox and I have an aesthetics question for export. Currently, my survey has 4 groups, two of which are repeating groups. Ideally, upon exporting as an XLS, I would like the data from all three groups to appear on the same sheet in the Excel document. However, currently, the data from each group appears on a different sheet in the Excel doc (see pic below). I am using a Kobo server and aggregator to download and export the data.

I suspect that the groups appear on different sheets because they are different lengths. "Recipientes_de_Agua" and "RECEP" are repeating groups, with "RECEP" nested within "Recipientes_de_Agua". "Recipientes_de_Agua" repeats unlimited times based on the data collector. "RECEP" repeats conditionally in response to a previous question.

I am planning on using R to analyze my data. It would make things easier if all of my data were on one sheet in my Excel doc. Is there any way to do this? I apologize in advance if my explanation isn't clear. I'm fairly new to ODK as a whole and am not too sure about the proper terminology for things.

Thank you in advance!

Although Kobo uses a lot of ODK components, please note that its server is different.

Repeats let you capture a variable number of records within the same context. You can think of a repeat as a nested subform and the data it collects as a separate data table. Because the number of repeat instances that will be collected can vary between form submissions and the number of fields in a repeat can be large, repeats are typically exported as their own tables, as you've experienced.

I recommend reading the tip at https://docs.getodk.org/form-logic/#repeating-questions for alternatives to using repeats that you may find more convenient.