Add a GeoJSON export to Briefcase and Aggregate

What is the general goal of the feature?
As a data manager, I would like to export data from Briefcase and Aggregate that I can more easily import into GIS or other downstream tools.

How will the feature work
For Briefcase, we will include a drop-drop menu with Include location file. For Aggregate, we will add the same option to the CSV exports. Enabling this option will cause Briefcase and Aggregate to export a GeoJSON file in addition to the CSVs.

The GeoJSON will be a FeatureCollection. The following mapping will be used between ODK XForms and GeoJSON: geopoint -> Point, geotrace -> LineString, geoshape -> Polygon. GeoJSONs support tree structures, so we will embed repeats inside the same file.

Here is a sample file:

{ "type": "FeatureCollection",
  "features": [
    { "type": "Feature",
      "geometry": {"type": "Point", "coordinates": [102.0, 0.5] },
      "properties": {"key": "1234", "name": "site_location"} },
    { "type": "Feature",
      "geometry": {"type": "LineString", "coordinates": [[102.0, 0.0], [103.0, 1.0], [104.0, 0.0], [105.0, 1.0]] },
      "properties": {"key": "4567", "name": "site_path"} }
  	]
}

Each geometric object will have key and name properties.

• key are the keys used in CSV exports. In a form without repeats, this will be the instanceID (e.g., uuid:3cc27b08-7ab4-42a6-9261-48eb2f9827d6). In a form with repeats, this will be the instanceID with the name and order of the element (e.g., uuid:3cc27b08-7ab4-42a6-9261-48eb2f9827d6/child[4]/location[2]).
  • name is the column/field name as Briefcase/Aggregate exports them.

To keep file sizes small, there will not be any other form data in the GeoJSON.

Open questions