Advice on managing Briefcase storage on my hard drive

1. What is the problem? Be very detailed.
I've been using ODK for a few years now and my Briefcase is overflowing! I'm looking for advice on how people manage Briefcase storage on their local drives when collecting lots of data.

I have tried different strategies, such as separate Briefcase folders every year or so, and archiving the old ones. But effectively I end up with 3 sets of data on my hard drives... The ODK folders from my mobile devices (I tend to copy the instances into a single repository), the Briefcase storage, and then the exported data. Because we use a lot of images in our work, this space soon Aggregates (sorry for the pun!). So my Central question (oops!), is how can I safely reduce the duplication or simply archive stuff so that my exports relate to the current work (I have some standard forms that I use for different projects, so I can end up with an export which includes other data and I then need to delete irrelevant records / media. Which is a whole other potential function of Briefcase!

The docs are great for how to use Briefcase but there is a big hole which appears to assume you have infinite storage...

And when you dig into Briefcase (as I have naughtily done from time to time) there are "here be dragons" warnings. I have deleted folders and got away with it, but I'm wary about making things unstable by missing a folder or deleting the wrong set...

I guess it would be nice to be able to look in my briefcase and give it a bit of a spring clean, throw out all the festering sandwiches, post-it notes and broken pens! At the moment I just keep ramming stuff inside and hoping that I can shut the catch again.

2. What app or server are you using and on what device and operating system? Include version numbers.