We have periodically heard that the split between general and admin settings is confusing, especially since most data collection campaigns don't set an admin password.
With the addition of multiple project support, we are hearing feedback that the two settings buttons are awkward (e.g. @tomsmyth here). We are also hearing that it's hard to find how to rename projects or configure how they're displayed (e.g. @mathieubossaert here).
To address all of these points, we propose combining all settings into one screen (full Figma mockup source):
When there is no admin password set, access controls will be applied (meaning some settings may not appear in their submenu), and all protected settings will be accessible. This is the same behavior as today but the protected settings are more visible.
When there is an admin password set, access controls will be applied and protected settings will NOT be accessible. A user who knows the admin password can tap on any of the protected settings elements or the lock in the top right corner to enter that password. Once the password is entered, the lock image changes to unlocked, access control are NOT applied (meaning all settings are accessible), and this remains the case until settings are exited.
Here are some questions to consider:
- For existing Collect installs with an admin password, should the new "Project display" settings category be accessible after upgrade or not? We are leaning towards making it accessible since it is non-destructive and there are cases in which it would be really nice for users to be able to customize their project name even if Collect is otherwise locked down for them. On the other hand, when an admin password is used, that typically means a project needs a high degree of control over Collect. It may be important that every user has the same project name/icon/color to minimize confusion.
- Is there any risk to this change we might not have considered?
We currently plan to include this change in v2021.2 because it pairs well with projects. It won't delay the release -- we have to make a location-related change to satisfy changing Play Store terms of service and this work will happen in parallel.