Dan Joseph TSC Application - 2018-07-16

Name
Dan Joseph (@danbjoseph)

Organization
American Red Cross

What contributions (e.g., issue triage, tech support, documentation, bug fixes) have you made to the ODK community?
I’ve been a user and vocal advocate of ODK at Red Cross since late 2013. That has included training other Red Cross and Red Crescent National Societies and American Red Cross International deployment roster members in mobile data collection. I’m an admin on the forums and try to frequently answer support questions. I’ve worked with IFRC Americas and University of Washington developers on the RC2 Relief Tool built using the ODK2 suite (helping test and guide the development of it). I promote ODK as much as possible in conversations, on Twitter, etc.

How do you believe your contributions have benefited ODK?
I think I’ve helped improve some user’s experience when seeking out help on the forums and I’ve helped a little bit in building the user base and community of practice.

What do you believe the top priorities for ODK are?
In addition to the strong momentum on code fixes and improvements, ODK has made tremendous progress lately on improving the professional look and feel of the online presence of the project. The migration of the docs as well as the recently redone website are great resources for people to improve their familiarity with the tools or learn about them for the first time. I think it’s important to keep those resources up-to-date as the software changes and improves.

And on that front, I think it’s also a top priority to keep up with changing needs and capacities of data collection. ODK was first developed thinking about the state of technology years in the future. ODK needs to continue to forecast where things will be in the future for everything from device hardware to data protection regulations, and steer the improvements of the software in a direction that addresses those predictions.