Dynamically display ODK data on a website using MySQL

Hi there!
I am new to this community, and ODK in general. I am working in the pharmaceutical industry, and have limited coding knowledge. I started learning python and recently moved into web-development and other front-end stuff.

My setup:
Apache, Tomcat, virtual debian machine, Aggregate

The story
I am working on adapting ODK data collection for "live-updating" a website with submissions from ODK collect. Up untill now, it seems the best approach for this is using ajax calls to retrieve data from the MySQL tables to load data and chart (or display image galleries) based on that. Unfortunately, I am not really good at php/javascript, and I cannot seem to load the images from the *_BLN tables. I have found a similar (How to Access Photos from MySQL Database? - #6 by yanokwa) question about how to display images from the SQL database, but I really do not understand the link he is trying to get at..
So far, I have been able to load numerical data from the SQL rows associated with certain forms, but I cannot seem to do that with the images. I have also found several question/ask sites stating that images should never be retrieved directly from a database, but rather just the file-path should be retrieved, and then the images should be stored in a directory on the server. As I understand the MySQL/Aggregate behaviour, the BLOB image is really the data, but is a binary file that needs to be reconstructed in order to get the full image?? In that case my question is this:

The questions I have

1. Is there some API-tool to acces form-data (automatically! Remember I need the website to update with new submissions without retyping any code, as long as the forms stay the same).
  2. How do I acces and/or reconstruct image-data stored in the MySQL database, so that I can display it on my website.

PS: I have to keep everything offline, so anything including google fusion tables etc. won't do :frowning: