Getting error in form on ODK Collect within a field that uses calculate

I suspect as I'm new to this I'm just doing something wrong in the setup

1. What is the problem? Be very detailed.

I'm trying to create a form (using ODK Build) that calculates a sum total using the values from other fields so specifically
1 field is a number (integer) with a data name of r1
Another is a number (integer) with a data name of r1
The third is the total field and I have tried putting ${r1} + ${r2} into the "calculate" property of that field

All of the fields are in a group

I get an XForm parse exception stating it doesn't understand the expression

2. What app or server are you using and on what device and operating system? Include version numbers.

Running on Huawei P20 Pro Android 9

I export xml file from ODK Build and put it in google drive and then "Get Blank Form" from Google drive via the app. The loading works fine and forms work when I don't use variable references in the calculate property

3. What you have you tried to fix the problem?

Tried adding and removing spaces around the variables
Moved the fields outside the group
Tried just adding ${r1} into the calculate field

Note: I've added the function now() into another date field (inside the calculate property) and this works ok

Seems to be having issues referencing variables

4. What steps can we take to reproduce the problem?

Just create a simple form with 3 integer fields

5. Anything else we should know or have? If you have a test form or screenshots or logs, attach below.

Hi @John_Zurowski
welcome to the forum! Please introduce yourself here!

could you attach your form? otherwise it's difficult to tell what's wrong.

Here's a simple form that hopefully illustrates the problem
running ODK Collect v1.27.3 and using online version of ODK Build

CalcForm.xml (1.4 KB)

Ok now it's clear...