If statement true, then apply particular integer

Hi there,
This is my first try at working with XLS forms. I've studied the
documentation, read many of the posts here, and haven't found the solution
I'm looking for. I have a particular field where if a previous answer
(question A) is no, then I'd like a zero applied to this field (question B)
without the field ever opening. I already have the relevant applied in
question B so it doesn't open unless the question A is yes. I'm unable to
default question B to a zero, as this is data collection, and a zero
implies something was actually counted.

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Hi Michelle,

Welcome to ODK!

Before I answer your question, I should note that you are fighting the
form spec here. ODK only sends the answers that are relevant (e.g.,
the answers along the path you followed through the form) to the
server. So if qA is no, then you don't need to store anything in qB
because you know the user never saw that question. qB was never
relevant.

If you add a "default" column to your form and put 0 in the row with
question B, it'll store a 0 even if the user didn't see that question.
The caveat is that users will see 0 when question B is relevant.
Defaults are static, so whatever you put in that column is what shows
up regardless of your inputs. You cannot put something like if(${qA} =
'no', '0', '').

If you do want to store some dynamic value that is hidden, then you
can use the calculate question and store whatever you want in the
calculation column. Your user will never see this question but you can
store whatever you'd like in it.

Hope that helps,

Yaw