Improved workflow and tools for form design

I am curious what systems & processes other people use for designing complex forms, collaborative work, version control, and debugging.

Full disclosure: I'm not a developer, so I might be ignorant of some tools out there.

I don't like working in MS Excel. It's bloated, some of the people I work with don't have it, and it's not actually a very good tool for the design process (e.g., poor commenting functionality, handling long consent scripts or questions is annoying, etc.).

Some things I would love to have access to:

1. Plain text format. I write reports in Notepad++, not MS Word, for similar reasons. There are a few benefits that this could open up, beyond just stability of text editors versus MS applications and their open source nature. Specifically:

A. I can use version control like git. This seems like something I should start using for ODK projects, given the dependencies between my edits and those of collaborators.

B. Facilitate syntax highlighting and auto-completion. It would be nice to have () and {} automatically appear in pairs and $ and variable names from earlier in the script be colored for easy identification. I wrote this in Notepad++ and the text ${varname} in #3 is all in pink. It's great.

2. Ability to edit simultaneously. Yes, we can do this in Google Sheets, but ODK was designed for data collection in far-flung, off-grid locations and many of us work in places with inconsistent electricy + internet. Maybe Excel does this and I just don't know it.

Related to #1 above: Asynchronous editing with merge would also be nice for some people; I would like effective tracking of changes in the git style.