of the public / rangers / guides etc. can complete ODK forms on their
Android phones when they see African Wild Dogs in SA, Zimbabwe, Botswana
and Mozambique. We will use new identification software to match photos of
individual dogs taken (via form) with a central database so we can
understand ranges of dogs / packs. All dog spot patterns are unique. Recent
research suggests they don't stay in one reserve but travel massive
distances across farming land which is part of the reason they are so
endangered now (as farms intrude on routes etc). With better understanding
of migratory routes, protected corridors can be set up / eduction done etc.
If anyone wants to volunteer to get involved helping us with the technical
side of the project, let me know.

Questions (am a self-taught techie so apologies if sound dumb):

1. Are there any plans / is there a way to automatically export data from
    ODK Aggregate via a live feed into a Fusion Table? Part of the way we want
    to get the public engaged is to show a "live" map, but at the moment we
    have to export manually.
  2. Photos taken are hosted in the cloud and linked to. If we wanted to get
    these into an offline database for the identification software to work, is
    there a clever way to do this, other than manually downloading?
  3. I know the process of downloading the app / changing settings to right
    appspot server domain is really simple for those that are comfortable
    around these things. But is there any way of making this even simpler for
    members of the public who are tech savvy? Is the only alternative building
    your own app?

I guess this is more of a wishlist, but thought worth asking here in case
I'm missing something currently available.

Thanks,

Rob

Hey Rob,
That is quite a research. I wish you guys luck on that. In Guyana we are
looking using same technology but looking at Forest Degradation etc.

Rox.

··· On Wed, Jul 25, 2012 at 3:04 AM, Rob Maclean wrote:

Hello,