Managing student chapter

I am a member of ACM student chapter of my college. I have previously held the position of Technical head for the chapter. Now, my role has been passed to my junior and I guide the new council to carry out activities. So, it is kind of management role. Being new to it, I would like to hear from ODK forum about ways to manage a student chapter.

Currently major issue chapter is facing is procedures to be followed for conducting any activity.
E.g. If a session on Python has to be organized, what procedures should be followed?
It can be : Find interested audience, Take permission for classroom, Organize speaker,etc,etc.
Currently, there are no defined steps to do so. Everything happens as per need which has lead to issues of accountability of work.

What is the best medium of communication?
Currently, everything happens verbally or through whatsapp which has lead to communication issues.
I have thought of https://www.forumotion.com/ as a solution.

I would like to improve my management skills and feel there are many people available on this forum who can share their ideas.
Any suggestions regarding management skills are welcome.