ODK aggregate docker image for PostgreSQL

Good morning to all,

for some personal needs I just created a docker image that runs Aggregate over PostgreSQL10.

It has to be improve - I'm not a docker expert - but it works fine. For example It would be cool to test and automate the database creation.
I will soon integrate it within a docker-compose beside PostgreSQL and Lizmap websig (https://github.com/3liz/lizmap-web-client) to show how to trigger the collected data transfer from aggregate to an other (spatial) database and show those data over a map.

2 Likes

This is pretty sweet, @mathieubossaert. Thank you for sharing!

It reminds me that we do have a WIP PR for docker support on Aggregate that maybe we can work together on? If we can get put our effort into a single Docker image, it'd be easier maintenance for everyone :slight_smile:

Of course @yanokwa ! --)
I would be glad to help with my little docker knowledge and it would be useful and meaningful to have a kind of official aggregate docker.

This is great, @mathieubossaert!

I started a branch in my fork with a Docker Compose setup that spìns a container with PostgreSQL, configures the DB, and spins another container with a Tomcat8 where it deploys a freshly built Aggregate. You can check it out here: https://github.com/ggalmazor/aggregate/tree/docker/docker

We didn't have the time and energy to put a lace on it and merge it on master but if there's interest in this I guess we can continue pushing this. Our idea was to create a new Gradle task to automatize setting up the Docker Compose setup, by exploding the WAR file into the right folder.

Building a single Docker image can be a maintenance pain, but I got promising results by using the postgres:9.6-alpine as a base. Then you need to install Tomcat8 and deploy Aggregate, which results on an image round to 250MB size.