ODK Aggregate Installation error on Mac Sierra

What is the problem? Please be detailed.

Hi I am trying to install ODK aggregate on my Mac, I am new to Mac OS, Post Installation, when I try to launch the tool it throws following message

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/apache/commons/cli/ParseException
at java.base/java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.base/java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:375)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.apache.commons.cli.ParseException
at java.base/java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:466)
at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:563)
at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:496)
... 3 more (1)
What ODK tool and version are you using? And on what device and operating system version?

What steps can we take to reproduce the problem?

What you have you tried to fix the problem?

Anything else we should know or have? If you have a test form or screenshots or logs, attach here.

I cant answer your question pe se, but to be perfectly honest you are probably far better of installing ODK Aggregate on a Linux box (either virtual or bare-metal) by following one of several well-documented recipes, than trying to strong-arm it into Mac OS X - especially if you are new to Mac OS X! eg:

https://opendatakit.org/use/aggregate/tomcat-install/
http://itinformation-shyam.blogspot.co.nz/2015/04/how-to-install-and-configure-odk.html

Just my $0.02...

My guess is that you have Java 1.9 which was just released. Try uninstalling Java 1.9 and installing Java 1.8 and see if that works.

Based on this previous post ODK Aggregate installer failure on macOS, I bet it'll work!

I've filed this issue at https://github.com/opendatakit/aggregate/issues/113 so we can fix it in the next release.

1 Like

Hi @Narendra_Shandilya!