ODK Collect Data Recovery- Data Lost

The Issues:
Hi everyone! I am very new to ODK and ODK Collect which I have been using to work on a field project. Because of my naivety with ODK, I had a colleague help me to create the survey and set it up on some tablets. The data collection was done offline and lasted about a week. Now that I am back in the office I have been trying to download the data.

My understanding of ODK Collect is that survey responses are linked to a cloud-based aggregator, which is where the survey XLSForm and responses live. When collected offline they have to be manually sent to the aggregator. However, before uploading the responses, I accidentally updated ODK Collect which logged me out of my project.

After consulting my colleague, I came to find out that they manually downloaded the survey onto each tablet and did not have the project linked to an account (it was done on the demo server). So after being logged out, I have no idea how to get those responses back. I have no way of logging back into the project to my knowledge.

I've tried looking in the files on the tablet (Samsung) and I've tried hooking the tablet up to my computer and sifting through the files again but I can't find them anywhere. Do any of you have any tips on how to recover the responses or are they gone forever :frowning:

Hi @Rczumberg,

Welcome to the ODK community! Whenever you have a moment, please take the time to introduce yourself here. Adding a picture to your profile is a great way to boost engagement and help us get to know you better.

Don't worry, your data might not be lost.

First, connect each tablet to your computer using a USB cable and ensure the tablet is set to "File Transfer" mode. Navigate to the ODK directory on the tablet's internal storage and find the instances folder, which contains all the collected form data. Copy this entire folder to your computer.