Pre-load forms in Collect APK

Hi,

I intend to put (pre-load before distribution/installation) project forms into Collect APK (I will distribute this customized APK offline to my project team). I have already opened the collect source in Android Studio. Can someone please let me know where should I place the form XML file, for the app to show the form in the FILL NEW FORM tab already after the APK installation (without doing GET NEW FORM)?

Thanks,
Saad

1 Like

Hi Saad,

While I couldn't answer your question directly as I'm not an Android developer, I just want to share a personal view. I have run many surveys and almost every case we had to update the form during the fieldwork. So baking it into the app is quite 'dangerous'. Maybe your case is different, but I think it's better to bring this up.
Trung.

2 Likes

@Saad There currently isn't a way to load the forms into the application in this way. Collect looks for the forms in /sdcard/odk/forms.

If the goal is to have a quick way to install a pre-configured copy of Collect with some forms, what I usually do is use adb on my computer to push both the APK and the necessary files.

Below are some scripts for Windows and macOS/Linux that uninstall Collect, delete all form and submission data, push previously exported settings, and a form to the SD card, and the install a local copy of Collect.

You'll likely have to weak the scripts, but hopefully it's a good starting place.

Windows Batch script

@echo off
REM :start
cls
REM pause
C:/adb.exe uninstall org.odk.collect.android
C:/adb.exe shell rm -r "/sdcard/odk/"
C:/adb.exe push "%cd%/collect.settings" /sdcard/odk/collect.settings
C:/adb.exe push "%cd%/training.xml" /sdcard/odk/forms/training.xml
C:/adb.exe push "%cd%/itemsets.csv" /sdcard/odk/forms/training-media/itemsets.csv
C:/adb.exe install "%cd%/collect.apk"
REM pause
REM goto start

macOS/Linux shell script -

#!/bin/bash

adb uninstall org.odk.collect.android;
adb shell "rm -r /sdcard/odk/";