Problems with exporting to .csv via CLI

Hi ODK team,

I'm really enjoying using ODK -- super useful set of tools. Thank you. I am fairly new to the world of ODK (and programming in R and doing anything via CLI) but I am learning a lot.

Hopefully this explains my problem, but if something isn't clear I can try to give you more information.

1. What is the problem? Be very detailed.

I am trying to export forms using CLI (actually in R) and I keep getting an error. FWIW, I don't actually need the csv, but I think getting the csv first is probably the easiest way to create a data frame in R from my data?

Firstly I pull the forms using;

system("java -jar odkBriefcase_latest.jar -plla -U {URL here} -u {XXXX} -p {XXX} -sd THIS -id test_drink")

This runs for a while and - admittedly - ends in an error BUT the storage directory is created abd as far as I can work out all the submissions are actually pulled and are now on my computer in .xml . So I don't THINK this error matters?

The error is;
Error pulling a form: java.nio.file.NoSuchFileException: THIS/ODK Briefcase Storage/THIS/ODK Briefcase Storage/forms/test_drink/metadata.json (see the logs for more info)

Then I try to export the submissions using the following;

system("java -jar odkBriefcase_latest.jar -e -id test_drink -sd THIS -ed THAT -ef test_drink.csv")

But this comes straight back with an error( and the THAT export directory isn't created);

Unexpected error in Briefcase. Please review briefcase.log for more information. For help, post to https://forum.getodk.org/c/support

When I look at the logs the output is very long but I think the salient bit where it goes wrong is this bit;

2019-10-16 20:36:34,706 [main] ERROR org.opendatakit.briefcase.Launcher - Error
java.io.UncheckedIOException: java.nio.file.NoSuchFileException: THIS/ODK Briefcase Storage/THIS/ODK Briefcase Storage/forms/test_drink/metadata.json