Total score hidden (not appearing) if skip pattern is used in a 9 item questionnaire

Hello ODK forum,
I am new to ODK and was developing a form. My tool consists 9 items. Each item has preceding 9 Yes/No questions. If the screening (preceding) question is "No", each of the 9 main (follow up) questions will be skipped. I can't visualize total score from 9 questions if at least one is skipped, and the next question that depends based on the total score is not appearing due to total score is not generated. Any solution please?odk_checking sheet25.xlsx (16.8 KB)

Hi @kiefdag

I assume you are assigning a value of 1 to Yes and 0 to No in your responses and then adding up the values to get a total score.

Are your screening questions mandatory? To avoid skipping screening questions I would suggest making the screening questions mandotory.

The community will be in a better position to assist if you can share your form or a subsection of the form that is not working. Please also describe your use case in detail if possible provide information on what you have done, what you expected and what you got.

Hello @kiefdag,

Any summation or calculation process that refers to a skipped question might not give you expected results simply because there is no value to complete the calculations. The function coalesce() helps you fill alternative answer for missing/skipped question

Assuming you have variables var1 and var2 to be summarized using addition as a result of var3 you will add this pattern coalesce(${var1},0) + coalesce(${var2},0) in the calculation column of variable var3

You notice the zero put after comma in coalesce construct, that can be any value you want to consider in lieu of missing or skipped answers. This will always give you a score even if your 9 questions are all skipped

Give it a try .. hopefully it solves the issue

Happy ODKing,

Jules R