Updating Central from v1.2 to v2023.3

Hi all,

Thought I would write up my upgrade from v1.2 to v2023.3. Firstly, the reason why I've been so behind on updates is due to workload and finding a good time to pause the system for the update, as the process takes a couple of hours. I ended up picking a Sunday evening. A big lesson that I have learned as part of the process is that I should have updated ODK on a regular basis. This would have made my life a little easier. But overall, it was a lot less scary than I had thought, especially with the support of the ODK team.

Right, so let's get into the details. My server is running on a DigitalOcean droplet, nothing fancy—regular Intel, 1 vCPU, 2 GB RAM, 50 GB SSD, and 2 TB transfer. I've been running the server for a couple of years and have a range of forms, some that upload photos, some with signatures, and some with PDF or Word docs. I've got around 10,000 submissions and about 50 users.
The main steps that I needed to take are all described in detail on the Upgrading Central page on docs.getodk.org.

Firstly, I needed to take a snapshot just in case everything went wrong and I needed to restore. This is easily done via the DigitalOcean web portal and is really cheap for the peace of mind that it gave me.