Uploading to ODK Aggregate from non-ODK app

Hello,

My company uses ODK Collect for data collection, however we have a certain type of data that can't be easily collected using ODK. I've developed an app with a more suitable UI and I'd like to be able to upload its data to our Aggregate server. The thinking is that I'll create a form with the appropriate data structure, load it onto our Aggregate server, then in the app generate an XML file for each piece of recorded data.

I'm new to Android development so I've been go through the source code of ODK Collect in the hopes of reverse engineering how it handles uploading to Aggregate. I seem to have run into a brick wall however, no matter what I do my connection to the server is refused. I figure it must be my code because the login settings are identical to what would be supplied in ODK Collect. Would someone mind looking over the code in question and giving me a few pointers? PasteBin below:

Thanks!

Collect adheres to the OpenRosa spec (or here) regarding submitting forms, which you can implement using any suitable HTTP client (eg curl), passing the necessary HTTP headers, multipart POST data, etc. I'd start by looking at this spec to figuring out how to submit forms outside of Collect (rather than trying to decipher from the source code...). You might also want to look at the Briefcase API, which exploits portions of the OpenRosa.

Post back if you have any problems - I can probably dig up some curl code to share that does a submit, which should be easy to mimic in your app.

1 Like

I did look through the OpenRosa specs and attempted both a digest and basic authorization - both still shot me a permission denied error. I don't think my issue has anything to do with the headers, as the only required headers are date and OpenRosa version, which I supply in my code (see pastebin). I'm just stumped.