Hi @nnsdtr_github
This is a known behavior:
If the count is decreased by a user, no groups will be deleted. This avoids accidental data loss: a user who accidentally sets the count too low can set it to a higher number and still have the repetitions that were previously created.
There is also a recommended workaround: https://docs.getodk.org/form-repeats/#id6