How can we contribute developing new features?

Hi ODK community! Here my short introduction: my name is Nicolas, I'm an information systems engineer from Argentina, and currently working for a company based in Buenos Aires. We are in the process of adopting a new Web GIS platform + data collection app. It means ODK is a BIG candidate for us, if we can find out how to handle some features which are not currently part of ODK.

Our short list of features we would need:

• Centralized group based security: we should be able to manage access to different features and forms in Collect from a server side (Aggregate?), opposed to current behaviour of Collect where you can manage access with a local password in every device.
  • Multi tenancy: we should be able to manage multiple "organizations" or tenants from Aggregate/Collect, so different organizations can work isolated (from the user's point of view), without having separated installations.

Having said this, we would like to contribute designing/developing those features, and making them part of ODK. Now the questions are: how can we do that? what is the process for approving a new feature? and for design and development? Is it possible to contribute in that way, without forking ODK?
I'm pretty sure many of my questions are already answered somewhere, unfortunately I couldn't find the right place.

Hope you can give me some advice!

Nicolas

3 Likes

Hi Nicolopez,

we Appreciate that you are here with us,

in fact if you want to share discuss for new feature you can discuss your feature here

thank you for sharing us your interest of ODK

Best Regards

Hi Nader, thanks for your welcome.
Before discussing new features in detail, I think it's worth understanding how the approval of new features works, who makes the decision, how can we contribute (time, money?), timing, etc.
Before requesting anything, I'd like to be sure how to do it in the proper way and with the right expectations.

Thanks!

Nicolas

Hi Nicolas,