How to Automate ODK Data into Visualization Dashboards

Hi fellow ODK-ers,

I'm wondering if this is the right category for this post - hopefully! To start off - I am not a developer. However, I want to try to understand the different possibilities for workflow or information flow of automating as much as possible the information/data management cycle. In my experience with ODK - new users start off with one or two forms for one or two surveys - and it's quite manageable to "humanly" manage pulling data, analysing in excel, throwing a report together, and sharing within your organisation.

BUT - once you get excited by the possibilities that ODK opens up - then you want MORE forms - to the point that then most organisations don't have automated systems to help them manage all their digital data collection - and loads of data then sits around never being used, because humans don't physically have enough time to manually pull, clean, analyze, and visualize all the different data coming in. This is especially true for multi-sectoral teams that are using ODK for daily/regular data collection.

Putting aside the fact that a recommendation could be "don't collect more data than you're going to be able to use" - organisations have to start somewhere. So I was wondering if any of you out there have best practices to share about how you automate some or all of the different parts of ODK data management?

I'm going to share what I know from my own experience first (excuse any incorrect terminology), and would be really happy if others have ideas about this, what tools work best for different steps, or what are "better" ways of doing this:

I'm assuming data is collected with ODK Collect and stored on an ODK Aggregate server hosted on Google Appspot.