Interview - Akshay Patel

Name: Akshay Patel (@Akshay_Patel)
Motto: Use technology to solve problems

A little bit about me
I am currently pursuing my Bachelors in Computer Engineering from Pune Institute of Computer Technology in Pune, India.

Since my childhood, I was fascinated by “Computers”. I got my first computer in 2007 and it made me curious about how the black box (CPU) worked, that hummed whenever I used my PC. Soon I was introduced to a thing that fetched information about whatever I asked, something that we call the “Internet”. So, from a very young age, I had made up my mind about making my career in the field of technology, solely out of curiosity to learn. I felt really proud when I had run my first “Hello World” program. Later I learned (and I am still learning) about Linux and Open Source software.

I strongly believe that computers can be used to solve any kind of problem. I started programming from 2014. I started with C then C++. Few MOOCs helped me improve my coding skills. I like Android development. Also, I have recently started to explore the field of Machine Learning and learned the basics of Tensorflow. I have also played around with NodeJS, Python and bit of Assembly Language Programming.

Apart from being tech savvy, I love reading. I am a “Potterhead”. You can say “Accio Akshay” to summon me.

How did you first find out about ODK?
I was going through the list of Organisations that participated in Google Summer of Code, 2017. This is how ODK caught my eye. I joined the Slack channel and started finding ways to contribute to the organisation from November 2017. Through ODK I learned that even simplest ideas if implemented correctly can make a huge impact in the society.

What are you using ODK for?